Scythe: Sign-Ups

The Bookish Games

Welcome to The Bookish Games, an online version of the party game Mafia that has been floating around the internet since 2013. If you haven’t participated in the Games before and want to know what it’s all about, be sure to visit the links provided in the menu (to the left on computers, top of the page for mobiles). There you will find a rundown of how the game works, the rules all players must follow, and archives of the previous editions of The Bookish Games.

The main thing to be aware of if you are thinking about participating in The Bookish Games and haven’t played before is thatΒ this game requires a major time commitment. At the very least, you will have to dedicate an hour or two each week to The Bookish Games if you want to play it properly. The Bookish Games involves reading comments left by other players (generally over 100 comments per game Day), analysing information from comments and player deaths, contributing to the Day discussion, and submitting the Night Action form (if your assigned roles comes with an active power). Please take this into consideration before signing up to play.

(But also, don’t let that warning scare you off because these gamesΒ ARE are a lot of fun. Check out our page of TestimonialsΒ or Player Interviews where players share some of the reasons why they love The Bookish Games.)

Scythe Edition

This edition of The Bookish Games is themed around Neal Shusterman’s Scythe. With so many characters being highly skilled killers, is anyone really safe? Hopefully, this set-up should make for a fun and interesting edition!

Reading Scythe is not a requirement in order to join The Bookish Games, but please be aware that spoilers from the book will likely be revealed during the game. Not only do players like to use their book knowledge to attempt to make sense of the game, but the game set-up itself usually involves a spoiler or two.

A fun little bonus: Asti will be playing this round!Β That’s right, your evil mastermind host has decided to join as a regular ol’ player. Should make for a very interesting round. Please doΒ try to refrain from killing her off on Day One just because you’re intimidated by her. (However, if you have genuine suspicions, then by all means. ;)) This game is set up and moderated by Inge (yours truly) and Dana. It’s my first time off the leash so I’m quite nervous, but I hope we’ve done this fantastic game justice!

Sign-Up to Play!

The deadline for sign-ups is Saturday, February 29th at 9pm GMTΒ with the games starting on Wednesday, March 4th at 7pm GMT.

To sign up, please fill out the form embedded below. We will be updating the sign-up list with confirmed participants below as we receive the forms. Β SIGN-UPS ARE NOW FULL.Β You can still sign up for the waiting list (to replace someone in case they need to drop out), or leave a comment below to be added to the Spectators Chat.

I understand that The Bookish Games requires players to post at least four comments per week. I also understand that most players generally spend at least two hours per week reading, analysing, and posting comments. I will do my absolute best to meet the commenting requirements and will contact a moderator as soon as possible if I find I am unable to do so:(required)

Have you read Scythe?(required)

Confirmed Players

  1. Harker @ The Hermit Librarian (they/them)
  2. Siran @ Sea’s Nod (she/her)
  3. Meeghan @ Meeghan Reads (she/her)
  4. Shannon M @ It Starts At Midnight (she/her)
  5. Anna @AnnaJJacobson1 (she/her)
  6. Asti @astistenning (she/her)
  7. Shannon T @Tibbs10 (she/her)
  8. Jenn @bookish_ginger (she/her)
  9. Kerys @ The Everlasting Library (she/her)
  10. Jeann @ Happy Indulgence (she/her)
  11. Krista (she/her)
  12. JosΓ©phine @ Word Revel (she/her)
  13. Amber B @ YA Indulgences (she/her)
  14. Patricia @bookishgeek (she/her)
  15. Beth @ArtemisHi (she/her)
  16. Crini @ Crini’s (she/her)
  17. Sana @ artsy musings of a bibliophile (she/her)
  18. MiKayla @OriginalgayP (she/her)

Waiting list

  1. Grace

Spectators

  1. Greg @ Book Haven
  2. Amber G @ Books of Amber
  3. Kritika @spidersilksnow
  4. Emily @ theBookishLounge
  5. Anne @amengelhart
  6. Brittany @gingernightowl

If you would like to be added to the Spectator Chat, a place where you can share your thoughts about the game with the moderators, eliminated players, and other spectators, please leave a comment below.

Good luck, players! We can’t wait to see what madness and shenanigans will unfold this time. 😈

See you soon,

Inge & Dana

14 thoughts on “Scythe: Sign-Ups”

  1. I read the book and I hope others have too. I think it would be fun to discuss it during play.

  2. Oh this edition should be awesome. Please sign me up as a Spectator though. March is gonna be kind of busy and I don’t think I’d have as much time to play as I’d want. Looking forward to seeing all the murdering though! πŸ™‚

  3. Spec chat please! I miss the bookish games shenanigans but I’m going to be traveling a lot for the next month or two. Can’t wait to see Asti play 😁

  4. This is my first time coming across an online version of this game and WOW, this is such a creative twist – it looks awesome!! I don’t think I can commit to playing at the moment but I’m very interested in what shenanigans will go down, so I would love to be added to the spectator chat πŸ˜€

  5. I’d love to spectate this time! I can’t commit to playing with crazy work trips coming up, but I would like to see Asti’s destruction (either as a baddie or a sluething goodie).

  6. I would love to be a spectator! This series is my absolute favorite ever, but not quite sure I could actually play and understand what I’m doing, πŸ˜…

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.